Ramen and Omakase Don’t Have to be Meaty to Bring Flavor

Nevin Martell

In America, ramen is notoriously not vegan. The popular tonkotsu style of the soup features deeply flavorful broth built on a foundation of pork and chicken, thick slices of fatty pork belly, egg-rich noodles and a soy-marinated, soft-boiled egg. This traditional Japanese dish doesn’t have to be such a meaty proposition—there are many versions that aren’t dependent upon pork—but crafting an animal-free alternative requires creativity.

To start, you need an...